Venez découvrir les charmes du cirque de Cilaos :

Cilaos

Geology, the birth of a cirque

Some 300 000 years ago, the Cilaos cirque was formed by cave-ins around Piton des Neiges, the island’s highest point at 3071 m. Erosion also contributed to the rugged terrain of this exceptional location. Cilaos is not a crater, despite being the only one of the three cirques to have a circular shape. It is also the southernmost and driest of the island’s cirques.

Cilaos is the newest town on the island; it was officially incorporated in 1965 by Prefect Alfred Diefenbacher, and today it is home to 7000 inhabitants. In addition to being a Creole village, Cilaos is also a mountain resort, and in fact, its sister city is Chamonix. Some 80 km of trails depart from this town, and Cilaos also offers an excellent selection of mountain sports, including canyoning and mountain climbing.

Authentic tastes : savouring Cilaos


Hôtel Restaurant Spa Les Chenets-le CILAOS - Ile de la Réunion - 974

Cilaos lentils are both an agricultural treasure and a tourist attraction. The rocky volcanic soil on the steep slopes of Ilet à Cordes is what gives them their distinctive nutritional properties. Production of this «queen of beans», the best side dish for a traditional curry, amounts to some 70 tonnes a year. These light-brown to blond lentils, endemic to the cirque, are smaller and finer than either Puy or Madagascar lentils.

Le vin de Cilaos

Wine from Cilaos was once said to provoke madness. Today, it is produced on some twenty acres of cultivated vineyards, grape varieties include Malbec, Chenin, and Pinot. The wines selected by the warehouse are red, rosé, and white, and as of 2004, they have vin de pays status as an indication of their quality. The vineyards of Cilaos, interestingly enough, are the highest in France, located at altitudes ranging from 600 to 1300 m, they also host the first harvests of the year, in january and february. Pruning is done during the austral winter, and the humid, sunny days of the austral summer make the grapes swell to maturity. Another peculiarity of this wine is that the grapes from each plot of land are fermented separately to preserve the different flavours of every microclimate in the cirque. Another famous and well-loved drink, fizzy Cilaos mineral water, flows from the spring known as Véronique. This water, drawn at a depth of 13 m, is the only naturally fizzy mineral water from the island.

Hôtel Restaurant Spa Les Chenets-le CILAOS - Ile de la Réunion - 974

Land of artisans : «jour de Cilaos» The tradition of embroidery and teaching needlework dates back to Angèle Mac Auliffe, daughter of Dr Jean-Marie Mac Auliffe, who introduced these techniques to Cilaos. She taught needlework to the other women in the village before succumbing to measles at the age of 26. The famous jour de Cilaos, the name given to this style of embroidery, is well-known even in England for having been chosen to decorate the royal table. Cilaos has a local lace-making association that promotes its products and teaches embroidery to the younger generations to keep this original art form alive. Since 1984, some 60 to 70 artisans work their magic at Maison de la Broderie, or the Embroidery House.

Exploring Cilaos

Please don’t hesitate to ask for more detailed information at the front desk. Our staff will be delighted to help you organise your visits and book activities with our trusted partners to make your stay even more relaxing.

Venez découvrir les charmes du cirque de Cilaos :

Cilaos

Géologie, la naissance d’un cirque

Il y a quelques 300 000 années s’est dessiné le Cirque de Cilaos par des effets d’effondrement autour du Piton des Neiges, point culminant de l’île (3071 m). L’érosion contribua également au relief escarpé de ce site exceptionnel. Cilaos n’a pas été un cratère, bien qu’il soit le seul des trois cirques à avoir une forme circulaire. C’est le plus méridional et le plus sec des cirques de l’île.

Cilaos est la plus jeune commune de l’île, créée en 1965 par le Préfet de la Réunion, Alfred Diefenbacher, on y compte aujourd’hui environ 7 000 habitants. Plus qu’un village créole, Cilaos est une station de montagne comme l’illustre le jumelage avec la ville de Chamonix… C’est le point de départ de 80 km de randonnées et de superbes activités de montagne, telles le canyoning ou l’escalade.

Des saveurs authentiques : le terroir de Cilaos

Hôtel Restaurant Spa Les Chenets-le CILAOS - Ile de la Réunion - 974

Les lentilles de Cilaos constituent un atout agricole et touristique considérable. Les terres volcaniques pierreuses sur les pentes escarpées d’îlet à Cordes, lui apportent des qualités nutritives remarquables. La production de la «reine des grains», meilleur accompagnement du carri traditionnel, avoisine les 70 tonnes par an. Cette lentille blonde à brun clair, endémique du cirque est plus petite et fine que celle du Puy ou de Madagascar par exemple.

Le vin de Cilaos

Le vin de Cilaos dont on a longtemps dit qu’il rendait fou, est produit sur une vingtaine d’hectares de vignes cultivées sur treilles issues des cépages de Malbec, Chenin et Pinot. Les vins sélectionnés par le chai sont rouges, rosés et blancs et bénéficient depuis 2004 de l’appellation «Vin de pays de Cilaos», gage de sa qualité. Les vignobles de Cilaos ont la particularité d’être les plus hauts de France avec une altitude variant de 600 à 1300 m et d’être vendangés les premiers de l’année, en janvier et février. La taille se fait durant l’hiver austral, l’humidité et l’ensoleillement de l’été austral mènent les grappes à maturité. Autre particularité, chaque parcelle est vinifiée séparément afin de conserver la saveur de chaque «micro-terroir» du cirque. Autre boisson célèbre et appréciée, l’eau gazeuse Cilaos est puisée à la source Véronique. Il s’agit de la seule eau minérale naturelle gazeuse de l’île, puisée à 13 m de profondeur.

Hôtel Restaurant Spa Les Chenets-le CILAOS - Ile de la Réunion - 974

Une terre d’artisanat : le «jour de Cilaos» L’apparition de la broderie et son enseignement sont dûs à Angèle Mac Auliffe, fille du docteur Jean-Marie Mac Auliffe qui assura le développement des thermes. Elle introduit l’art de la broderie à des femmes du village de son entourage avant de décéder à l’âge de 26 ans de la rougeole. Le fameux «jour de Cilaos», nom qui caractérise ces broderies, est célèbre jusqu’en Angleterre pour avoir orné la table royale. L’Association pour la promotion de la dentelle de Cilaos en assure la promotion et forme les nouvelles générations pour perpétuer cet art unique originaire. Depuis 1984, 60 à 70 brodeuses perpétuent la tradition à la «Maison de la broderie».

Partez à la découverte de Cilaos

 

N’hésitez pas à demander de plus amples renseignements à la réception de l’hôtel, notre personnel aura le plaisir de vous conseiller pour organiser au mieux votre séjour et réserver vos activités avec nos prestataires partenaires pour votre plus grande tranquillité.